Introduction to astrology

In astrology, time and place of birth are considered very important. The time and place determines our sun sign (also known as rising sign) and the location of all the planets. This is referred to as the birth or natal chart. According to astrology, the positions of the celestial bodies in the birth chart will influence a person’s life.

There are twelve signs of the zodiac. Ten signs are ruled by a planet while Leo is ruled by sun and cancer is ruled by moon. In astrology, Pluto is still considered a planet and it has great significance.

The astrological chart begins with sun sign Aries and ends in the sign of Pisces. We can compare an astrological chart to a wall clock, small hand on the clock shows hour (sun) and long hand which moves faster shows minutes (moon). Sun takes thirty days to move through a sign, while moon takes a little over two days to go through each sign. Each zodiac sign gets a new moon and a full moon every year. It’s rare to have more then one new or full moon per sign in a given year. A new moon brings new beginnings in certain part of our lives. The full moon is known for bringing to light or completion whatever we started a while back. When there is a new or full moon in a zodiac sign (constellation), issues related to that sign become important to us.


About astrostarsign

This blog is about astrology and planetary cycles, and the effects on people.
This entry was posted in Astrology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s